Posted by: dailymovierec | January 20, 2008

The Muppet Movie (1979)

I chose this movie for today’s recommendation not because it is obscure or not well known. On the contrary, the Muppets have a permanent place in our pop culture. I picked the Muppet Movie because I think it is a movie that everyone should see again. This was one of my favorite movies when I was growing up, but I saw it again when I was in college, and it took on a whole new meaning. This movie is just funny, no matter what age you are. When you watch this movie with fresh eyes, you can truly see the gift of imagination that Jim Henson gave to the world, and how cruel it was that he died so young.

I have always felt that great children’s media doesn’t dumb itself down, but instead challenges its audience, no matter what age they are, to question their surroundings. It is no small point that To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee is written at a 5th grade reading level. In my mind art is great not for obtuseness, but for accessibility and clarity — everyone, even a child should be able to understand it. I’m not saying that The Muppet Movie is the greatest film ever, but is a great movie, and it is a fantastic adventure (and “Rainbow Connection” is to this day one of my favorite songs).

Responses

  1. “Myth! Myth”
    “Yeth?”
    Totally agree! One of the greats. Steve Martin is hilarious and who doesn’t love Kermit and Miss Piggy? I was eight when this movie was released so of course, at the perfect age, but I can still appreciate it today.


Leave a Reply

Categories

