Posted by: dailymovierec | January 22, 2008

10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

The film world has lost a tremendous talent today in Heath Ledger. I have been a fan of his work since the beginning, and have seen pretty much every movie he’s been in (including Ned Kelly, which is … okay). In honor of his memory, I wanted to visit his first US film, 10 Things I Hate About You. This movie suffers from one major flaw, which keeps it from being taken seriously — it’s a teen movie. I however view this as an asset, because 10 Things I Hate About You is an excellent teen movie. I’ve always felt a sign of true art was if not creating new genres, at least excelling within existing ones. Like a fine haiku, this movie accomplishes all it sets out to do, and then some: it is charming, it is funny, it has something for everyone — but most of all, it’s a blast. It’s compulsively watchable, and therein lies its appeal. It may have a young cast, but it is full of immense talent: Julia Stiles, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and most of all, Heath Ledger. Tough and sensitive at the same time, watching this movie will remind you of why everyone fell in love with him in the first place. Godspeed Heath, we miss you.

Responses

  1. definitely couldn’t make it through this clip without welling up a little; what a loss. i was looking forward to many more years of great work from this excellent actor.

  2. I can’t even watch the clip. I’m so sad, angry, and disappointed. A terrible loss.

  3. Great movie. Sad that he’s gone. We should get together sometime soon and watch this.

  4. as someone whose teen years are only a distant memory I would like to say how much I enjoyed this movie. I’ve had to sit throught alot of teen movies and this is my favorite….in fact, with or without a teen around I still enjoy watching it. Heath’s death was very sad and a terrible loss.

  5. very sad he’s gone loved his work and watched 10 things i hate about you and the dark knight and he played a stunning performance love you heath ledger!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

